The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) intends to submit the final draft to the Board of Environmental Quality for consideration for temporary adoption at the April 25, 2011 Board meeting. If the rule is adopted by the Board, DEQ will submit the rule for publication in the June 2011 issue of the Idaho Administrative Bulletin and will initiate the proposed rulemaking. These temporary rules will not go into effect until submitted through the EPA for the State Implementation Plan (SIP) which could take up to 18 months to be accepted. We do not expect to participate in the use of temporary burn permits until, at best, 2012.
small crop residue burns will
include baled agricultural residue, spot burns and blanching (a
processed used in mint production).
The requirements to
The requirements toapply for a spot burn permit would be a nonrefundable fee of $20 paid to DEQ as an administration fee. The registration information provided for a crop residue burn permit will also be required for a spot burn permit. The permit will be valid for the calendar year in which it is issued and is good for a cumulative total of no more than ten (10) acres of small spots and/or baled agricultural residue during the year and no more than one (1) acre of small spots or baled agricultural residue per day. Two (2) tons of baled agricultural residue is assumed to be equal to one (1) acre.
wanting to burn are responsible to ensure that adequate measures are taken
so the burn does not create a hazard for travel on a public roadway.
Burning is not allowed if the proposed burn location is within three (3)
miles of an institution with a sensitive population and the surface wind
speed is greater than twelve (12) miles per hour or if the smoke is
adversely impacting or is expected to adversely impact an institution with
a sensitive population. Burning is permitted for a county unless DEQ has
designated that the day is a no-burn day which may include weekends and
holidays. Spot and baled agriculture residue burns cannot smolder or
create smoke outside of the designated time period that burning is
After a spot burn is complete, the farmer will need to record the date, time frame, type of burn, and amount burned on the date of the burn. Records of such burns will need to be retained for two years and made available to DEQ upon request.
Idaho Legislative Contacts
Visit the Idaho Legislature webpage for information about the current legislative session and to find contact information for your local legislators.
View the Food Producers of Idaho website to stay current with specific legislation being followed by the membership of Food Producers.